Guess where I ate today! The Buffalo Brew Pub

 This is a restaurant that I’ve been a fan of for awhile now, the Brew Pub at Main and Transit. My family discovered this home grown gem a few years ago when we attended a Doctor Andy’s Day for Kids fundraiser that was held here. Ever since that we’ve been coming back, me at least attempting to try a new dish each time.

The Buffalo Brew Pub is a pretty big place, probably built as a house with several additions. Walking in there’s a long bar on the right hand side serving house made micro brews. These are made along the left of the building in a solarium of sorts, allowing the large copper vats to be seen from the dining room. The decor could be considered rustic, with a large cobblestone fireplace that I’ve never seen fired up, but still pretty cool. There are a few large flat screens on the wall, making it the perfect place to watch a game, as my family has many times. The menu is based around Buffalo favorites. They use locally sourced products including Mineo & Sappio sausage and a bottle of Weber’s Mustard on every table (a huge plus in my opinion).

As every good meal should, we always start off with popcorn and peanuts that are complementary and can be smelled upon entering. On this visit we did not get an appetizer, but in the past we’ve had the Loaded Brew Pub Fries which were delightfully crispy and a sampler of fry&fly finger foods that was executed well. For my entree I got the Turkey Pot Pie which does go against my phobia of meat pies that I developed after watching Sweeney Todd, but the menu description made it sound very good, and it seemed like the warm comfort food I was craving. Unfortunately I was not impressed by this particular dish, mainly for the fact I thought it was bland, and lacking the mushrooms and onions I was looking forward to. The filling appeared dominated by carrots and was lacking depth of flavor. The crust however was delicious and I ate every bit of it.

My parents both ordered the Panini du jour which happened to be turkey and bacon with “Boom-Boom Sauce” which made me pity our waitress for having to say that with a straight face. Being slightly afraid of what “Boom-Boom Sauce” was, they asked for it on the side. I tried it myself, and even with my complex pallet (not to toot my own horn or anything) I could not for the life of me figure out the Boom-Boom. I don’t think either of my parents were big fans of it either, so it’s probably good they got it on the side. Otherwise, they both enjoyed their panini.

Since I’ve had many enjoyable experiences here, I’d like to recommend the Monte Cristo which is absolutely delicious. The turkey and ham taste like they’re right off the Thanksgiving and Easter tables respectively. For me, the warm maple syrup served on the side is what really makes this sandwich, if you’ve ordered a Monte Cristo before and looked at that syrup in disgust, just try it, believe me, it’s fantastic.

In closing, this is a really good restaurant. Now there is a hidden motive behind the timing of this post, as I would like to invite everyone to come out to the Buffalo Brew Pub this Sunday (2/26/12) for the annual Doc’s Day for Kids fundraiser. There’s a large basket raffle, silent auctions, 50/50 splits, and door prizes. Catholic Health System doctors will be tending bar, donating all tips and a portion of food sales to the cause as well. All proceeds benefit the Sisters Hospital Special Care Nursery (NICU) to ensure the best care for the hospitals tiniest patients. So please stop by the Buffalo Brew Pub 2/26/12 from 12-6pm. Come hungry, tip well, buy raffle tickets, and have a great time, to benefit a great cause.

Buffalo Brew Pub on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

