Guess where I ate today! Vera Pizza

Well this is one I’ve been wanting to try for awhile, so when my parents gave me card-blanche to pick any restaurant to dine at (within a reasonable price range) I chose Vera Pizza on Lexington.

So this place is small, really small. From an early blueprint I found on Buffalo Rising, there’s seating for roughly 30, not including the bar. I can honestly say I’ve never seen such a tastefully done buildout, that really feels authentic. Industrial yet extremely comfortable, not pretentious at all. They only take reservations between 5-6:00pm, after that it’s first come first serve. We got there close to 6:30 on a saturday night and luckily a table was just finishing up and we were seated in about 10 minutes.

We were greeted with still water served in glasses slightly larger than a shot glass. I was very happy to see Pellegrino on the drink menu and ordered that at the bargain price of $3 for the bottle. Like all proper meals should, ours started with goat cheese, stuffed inside a risotto ball. The Arancini was served in a spicy San Marzano tomato sauce and big enough to split between two people.  The goat cheese at the center was a little cold but once submerged in sauce it was brought up to temperature. Was it good? yes. Was it worth $9? not really.

At Vera PIZZA, you have to order pizza right? Right! So that’s what we had. I had the Potato Rosemary w/ an egg ($13). Besides the potato and rosemary, this pizza came topped with a truffle cream sauce. Anytime I hear truffle, I get nervous because truffle is a very intense flavor that has a nasty habit of overpowering an entire dish. In this case, it really complemented the pizza. It was a filling pie, that left me puzzled in regard to reviews I read about people leaving hungry, which I find simply implausible. Now you may think the egg may be weird but just give it a shot, you won’t regret it, it worked well.

My parents also got pizzas. The Margarita Pizza ($11) was simplistically delicious. There was something about the sauce, I don’t know what it was, but it had an aftertaste that made this the best pizza sauce I ever had. My mom had the Porchetta ($12) which had braised pork shoulder, olives, and fontina. I really loved the taste of the pork, and my mom enjoyed the olives but wished there were a few more.

For those not in the pizza mood, they offer several appetizers, a couple pasta dishes, and some entrees (one of which they were out of upon my visit).

Even though I cannot take advantage of it, I should at least give a shout out to the pre-prohibition era bar at Vera. Watching these mixologists work was simply astonishing, making drinks that seemed well worth the $10 price tag.

I can not wait to return to Vera. The prices were very reasonable, in fact I probably would have paid that much just to hang out in there. I encourage all to give this a shot, preferably not on the same time as me as that might make it hard for me to get a table…

Vera Pizzeria on Urbanspoon

Comments
One Response to “Guess where I ate today! Vera Pizza”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] was just filling up. As for a description of the interior, you could just read my post from Vera Pizza as they’re set up just about the same, large bar taking up the left wall, bench seating on [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

